Notes from Stonesthrow

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Oscar February 27, 2011

Filed under: Entertainment — Greg @ 1:13 pm

Winter’s Bone is on our coffee table and High Noon is out of mind; otherwise, the ten best picture nominees have been viewed.

My personal final ranking:

  1. 127 Hours (listen, Danny Boyle makes movies I like, OK? It was fascinating, taut, harrowing, creative; I liked it)
  2. Black Swan (I’m torn about this, in part because we just saw it yesterday, and because I think it might think it’s deeper than it actually is, but I love me some Natalie, and I think it was a fresh take on madness)
  3. The Fighter
  4. The King’s Speech
  5. The Social Network
  6. The Kids Are All Right
  7. Toy Story 3
  8. Inception

Here’s the thing. I’m not sure that I’ve loved a best picture nominee since There Will Be Blood (in which year I also really liked Michael Clayton). Everyone’s been saying it, but I’ll repeat: the Oscars have become boring. We already know who will win in pretty much everything, except there’s a chance for a Bening/Portman deliberation (and I’d be happy with either).

So, what’s you’re ranking?

 

One Response to “Oscar”

  1. fronesis Says:

    Black Swan for me. But I read it differently: it’s not a take on madness and it’s not even a movie. It’s an attempt, through cinema, to stage Swan Lake, i.e. it’s a ballet and not a movie.

    Social Network should win for best screenplay, but not for best movie.
    King’s Speech was great.

    Inception was one of the worst movies I’ve seen in years.


Leave a Reply

