Notes from Stonesthrow

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Favorite Podcasts January 11, 2011

Filed under: Entertainment,Media — Greg @ 6:22 pm

Not that anyone cares, but I thought I’d share some of my favorite podcasts. It’s sort of a best of 2010 list in a way, and since I wasn’t around for the end of the year, well, here you go.

Pop Culture Happy Hour: an NPR podcast hosted by a Television Without Pity alumnus that is fun, irreverent, and provides some good discussion on hot topics of the day. Not to be missed. Oh, and very gay.

Extra Hot Great: Some more alumni from Television Without Pity (and I found about this podcast from PCHH) mixed in with a great helping of pop culture and regular bits (The Canon, wherein they induct television episodes for a hall of fame of sorts, and Game Time). Very funny and some very good analysis.

Five Hundy by Midnight: A long-time favorite, this is really only for those who love Vegas, but it’s produced by a lovely couple from Minnesota who dish on all things Vegas with wit and wisdom. Listen and you might hear me call in sometime!

Radiolab: This is not really a podcast, but it’s the only way I listen to this NPR show. Each episode deals with a particular science-y topic in a very interesting way — a way in which this humanist can understand and be interested.

NPR Story of the Day: OK, I realize I’m a little NPR obsessed, but this is a great way to hear the best story on NPR since I don’t get a chance to listen everyday to the radio.

 

2 Responses to “My Favorite Podcasts”

  1. Michele Says:

    Thanks for the mention, and I’m honored to be in such good company!

  2. Tim Says:

    Wow. Thanks so much for the plug. I’m honored. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

